Skip to content
March 20, 2018 / philosophermouseofthehedge

Hotly debated confinement imminent

While not quite “The droghte of Marche hath perced to the rote…”

The reign is over

(9 stormy weekends and endless, dark, dreary, winter days…)

And coming apart.

The window screens are.

Modern “miracle” fiber holds up for just so many hurricane seasons and punishing scorching summers. Tiny gnat filtering screens ready to debut shortly …which mandates hours of prep cleaning windows and the years of debris clogging those window channels the screens must fit into.

Memo to self: work on instructional behavior modification for large dog paws and little cat feet which are just trying to encourage those lively chameleons and lizards to come inside and play…or the new screens will have a very limited window of use.

Prairie Feather grass and flowers greet visitors on porch. (© Image: ALL rights reserved, copyrighted image, NO permissions granted

The flowers, like wannabe beauty queens, graciously welcome visitors – encouraging them to try the porch bench and chat for a while. The silly Feather Prairie Grass waves people over with the same joke season after season, “Step right up. Take a trip. Have a nice fall.” Sigh. (© Image)

Spring is here. It’s official.

About 89°F past two days. Molly Malamute is drooping already.

We’re frantically getting outdoor work done – like squirrels rushing around preparing for winter – only here it’s frenzy before sweltering, scorching summer heat drives us all indoors for the duration.

“Spring is sooner recognized by plants than by men.” (Chinese Proverb).

Yeah, can’t hold a good weed down – late winter storm or no later winter storm. It’s the Deep State of Plants: underground plotting to take over no matter how much effort is put in get to the root of verdant matters. Endless, inexhaustible army of flora…don’t think for a moment they will go without a fight.

“In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt.” (Margaret Atwood)

Oh, good. No snippy comments about the earthy smell in the house…it’s seasonal dressing. Feel guilty blaming it on muddy dog paws so much.

Lilies before Easter, (© image. ALL rights reserved, copyrighted, NO permissions granted)

Lilies always innocently look like a gaggle of ladies who brunch. Probably ready to trumpet news or gossip, so watch what you say on that bench. (© image)

“But each spring a gardening instinct, sure as the sap rising in the trees, stirs within us. We look about and decide to tame another little bit of ground.” (Lewis Gantt)

Like DIY house remodeling projects (“just a little updating”), landscaping is an addiction.

I’m said to have PADD (Plant Attention Deficit Disorder): easily distracted from going in a straight line to get just the items on the Home Depot list when faced with colorful gardening displays.

Oh, seriously these little bedraggled limp plants in the soon to be discarded and trashed closeout pile just need fresh dirt and sun – and they are only 50¢! (Don’t smirk. I’ll match my strays and orphans against any of your high dollar plants in less than a week – and at a bargain price. Which leaves all the more money for more mulch and rocks.)

Yes, rocks. This is the coastal prairie. Rocks less. (I know, my ancient relatives are rolling over in their graves that I buy river rocks…beats driving to Central TX ranch and fighting the rattle snakes for them though.)

“You’ll never plow a field by turning it over in your mind.” (Old Irish Saying)

Good advice – for any season or any seasoned one.

Phil, the Philosopher Mouse of the Hedge.

Purslane flowers among rocks and prairie grasses (© image.all rights reserved, copyrighted image, no permissions granted)

May be a long way from cool babbling brooks and river beds, but I can make believe…through the window…inside in the air conditioning all summer. (© Image)

 

 


Discover more from Philosopher Mouse of the Hedge

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

19 Comments

  1. easyweimaraner / Mar 20 2018 6:27 am

    I wish I had such cute spring greeter flowers… my fabulous bargain pansies for 99 cents lost the fight agains Jack Frost :o( maybe that is the reason miss spring is not here yet… she can not find the way without flowers ;O)

    Like

    • philosophermouseofthehedge / Mar 20 2018 6:36 am

      You’ve discovered what’s holding Spring back – maybe she wants to feel like a bride with flower petals covering the path before her. Thanks digging up that astute observation

      Like

  2. Ally Bean / Mar 20 2018 7:29 am

    PADD (Plant Attention Deficit Disorder) I have this, too. So much so at this time of year. We’re expecting snow showers today, so I haven’t bought any plants yet. But soon I will. Love The Canterbury Tales reference and the old Irish saying, one that my mother often said.

    Like

  3. shoreacres / Mar 20 2018 7:34 am

    Now, this is wonderful: ““You’ll never plow a field by turning it over in your mind.” I think that’s one I might add to my little list of inspirational quotations I can beat myself over the head with from time to time. It’s nearly as good as another one from the Old Country: “A new broom sweeps clean, but an old broom knows the corners.”

    Even I twitched this morning when I went outside and discovered all my cacti have started to grow. Hooray, hoorah. It’s time to clear out and clean up. By the way — I have a nicely established Turk’s Cap if you’d like it. It needs real ground, rather than a pot.

    Like

  4. Cecilia Mary Gunther / Mar 20 2018 7:52 am

    “You’ll never plow a field by turning it over in your mind.” this made me laugh and laugh and laugh!! So true. So bloody true. Glad your spring has sprung but lordy you are hot already!

    Like

  5. ShimonZ / Mar 20 2018 8:31 am

    ah spring… I wait for it impatiently through winter, and now we see the first signs here too. But as a city boy, can’t imagine what it would be like to grow the garden myself… have to admit, I don’t even grow things in pots the way some do. I used to think one could just walk through a field tossing seeds in the general direction and then wait for harvest time, or for the garden to be beautiful… Of course, I’ve been disillusioned of that blissful dream. But I have to trust others for the information… you know, the text between the swear words.

    Like

  6. Kate Crimmins / Mar 20 2018 9:12 am

    So jealous! We are now expecting snow which was originally supposed to miss us. BTW I turn over a lot more than fields. I turn over house projects, books I’m sure I’ll read. My mind is a lot more active than my hands! Hugs to Mollie. My cats are still hanging around the fireplace at night seeking out the warmth.

    Like

  7. Carrie Rubin / Mar 20 2018 9:32 am

    Spring? Did someone say spring? And not a minute too soon. Wish the weather got the memo though. 😄

    Like

  8. D. Wallace Peach / Mar 20 2018 10:00 am

    Happy Spring. Great quotes. We had a couple days of sunshine in the 60’s and it felt wonderful. I hope your temps aren’t too much of a harbinger of the summer to come. 😀

    Like

  9. Curt Mekemson / Mar 20 2018 12:36 pm

    Let me introduce you to star thistle, my bane of banes. Talk about plotting the ultimate takeover of the world! It may not be the first flower of spring but it is definitely the last flower of fall, leaving behind nasty little seeds with a hundred year shelf life and roots that can reach 20 feet into the ground.
    Snow here in Connecticut tomorrow, maybe a foot. And it’s supposed to be snowing when I get home to southern Oregon on Saturday. Spring? What spring? –Curt

    Like

  10. Amy / Mar 20 2018 1:21 pm

    I love looking at the flowers, and wish I had some in my yard. That is, without spending money or remembering to water them during the dry (and not-so-dry) heat of the summer. Any thoughts? (No, no, I cannot hire a gardener.)

    Like

  11. sustainabilitea / Mar 20 2018 3:47 pm

    Maybe we could average out our temperatures–36 here and feels like 27? That would make us both much happier, I think, and feel like spring has sprung, not gone by (there) or not yet arrived (here.) I planted a garden of perennials last year so I’m looking forward to seeing how they’ll do this year.

    janet

    Like

  12. Roxie / Mar 22 2018 11:56 am

    Spring lists certainly add up, but nobody does humor like you, what a hoot, thanks! I will sit a spell, on your bench, the view is lovely!

    Like

  13. Gabby Granny / Mar 22 2018 10:17 pm

    Here in the north, winter is fighting hard to stay. My strawberry plants arrived in the mail this week, and so did eight or nine inches of snow.

    Like

    • Gabby Granny / Mar 22 2018 10:18 pm

      I have to correct that. The snow didn’t arrive in the mail. If it had, I would have sent it back postage due.

      Like

  14. LordBeariOfBow / Mar 23 2018 5:31 am

    Something wrong here,💭💭💭 spring??? It’s autumn 🌏🌏 😛😛😛😛

    Like

  15. RKLikesReeses / Mar 23 2018 10:04 am

    Ooo…pretty flowers! A delight to see. 89? Ack. HOT!!! That’s sad about your screens – nothing’s built to last anymore except bad weather and weeds. ((((hugs))))

    Like

  16. cat9984 / Apr 12 2018 5:00 am

    Gardening has to wait here (Mich). We’re still getting snow.

    Like

    • philosophermouseofthehedge / Apr 12 2018 9:29 am

      Brrr. Snow on bluebonnets isn’t unheard of here, but it’s been a few years (thank goodness) We’re in whiplash season with too hot one day and too cold the next. A little in between would be so nice. Stay warm! Thanks for trekking over here to chat

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.