Skip to content
March 13, 2017 / philosophermouseofthehedge

The Challenge of Breaking Up

Breaking up is not hard to do.

“Mom. Mom! Go stand by the window. You’re breaking up.” I don’t know. She said something about feeling faint.

Girls in snow in vintage swim suits ( 1936. Idaho NYA Fed. Residence School. (NARA/USPD.by US employee/Commons.wikimedia.org)

It may be snowing on the East Coast, but a little chill never stops determined Spring Breakers(Idaho girls in snow,1936.Idaho/ NARA image/USPD/Commons.wikimedia.org)

Forget the grubby road trips crammed in a car counting pennies at the drive thru on the way to a cold day at the local beach.

What are student loans for if not Spring Break Trips to sunny luxurious resorts? Cancun? Cabo? How about Punta Cana?

It’s a Rite of Passage, right?

Not to go when EVERYONE ELSE IS would cause a break down. (And we ain’t talking one of communication. Never hear the end of it.)

  • Select your trip now! Here’s where many buy their party packages: StudentCity offers “the ultimate in the Spring Break experience” “Live it up for Spring Break 2017”
  • And the cringe worthy reality: “Spring Break Student Loan Study” (survey via Pollfish and Whatsgoodly). “….51.20% of parents that cosigned on their child’s student loan said their retirement has been put in jeopardy due to late payments made by their child. Many students are hamstringing their parent’s ability to retire because they are using their student loan money to pay for an island adventure.”

And of course the concept has trickled down to high schools years ago

Cruises have been promoted for them…without parents along to spoil the fun.

woman in glamour pose sitting on beach (1945. actress Gloria DeHaven, Yank, the Army Weekly magazine. USPD, pub.date, fed.army employee/Commons.wikimedia.org )

She, like many fourth grade girls, think she’s this.(USPD/Commons.wikimedia.org)

Is is any wonder the wanna-be-cool elementary crowd whines, too?

Friends confided in us last weekend their apple-of-their-eye granddaughter is outraged because her Spring Break trip to DC was called off due to travel issues. Blizzard? What’s a little blizzard? She’s already bragged to all her friends about going!

So they bought her a puppy instead.

To appease her.

Maybe if there’s break in the weather, they can haul the disgruntled child down to local beach.

Park the car and arrange the Yeti to block the chilling wind. You’ll get a tan even with shivering with goosebumps (Speaking from experience here.)

The tan is all that counts. Spring Break isn’t about swimming in the water.

Might as well learn now.

Oh, give me a break. (Wait. Let me clarify. Put down that baseball bat.)

Don’t go breaking’ my heart

Phil, the Philosopher Mouse of the Hedge.

1965 Burt Bacharach/Hal David song recorded by Dionne Warwick

“One drop of rain doesn’t make the sun run away
Don’t go breakin’ my heart
One falling leaf doesn’t make September in May
Don’t go breakin’ my heart…

…..Teach my heart how to smile, oh…”

20 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ally Bean / Mar 13 2017 11:10 am

    I went on one [1!] spring break trip in my life. I was a junior in college, and a friend & I went to FL where we stayed with her aunt! Talk about the opposite of going wild on spring break.

    Like

  2. islandeditions / Mar 13 2017 11:18 am

    And don’t forget that in the north, “spring break” means the “up” of “ice” on waterways … https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l7WSMOHQvzI

    Like

  3. sportsattitudes / Mar 13 2017 11:41 am

    I never took a Spring Break trip when younger but I certainly made up for it by acting out much the same way as those who actually take them reportedly do. I suppose some Break travel plans are being affected by the return of winter here in the Northeast. It was seventy here. Now it’s going to snow. What’s wrong with this picture?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kate Crimmins / Mar 13 2017 12:38 pm

    Didn’t have money to do that when I was young and I certainly wouldn’t take my mother’s hard earned money! Things have changed! I want a puppy!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Carrie Rubin / Mar 13 2017 1:44 pm

    The advantages to having an introverted college son: he doesn’t want to go anywhere on spring break. Though he is currently away on a school-sponsored course for the week. But that probably doesn’t really count since he gets college credit and it’s nowhere tropical. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Littlesundog / Mar 13 2017 2:25 pm

    We never thought of spending money so extravagantly – not even when we could have done it. I have been to the beach a few times during spring break (on vacation or passing through) and can’t believe how crazy it can be. I guess I’m a weirdo. I don’t think that kind of thing was ever “fun” for me. 🙂

    Like

  7. Anne Mehrling / Mar 13 2017 3:47 pm

    We had two spring breaks this year, both wonderful. High school grandson and college grandson opted to spend their free week with us. Couldn’t have been nicer for us!

    Like

  8. shoreacres / Mar 13 2017 4:21 pm

    I can’t remember Spring Break. We must have had one, but as i recall, there was only Christmas break and semester break. We got Good Friday and Easter off (high school and college both) and that was it. The thought of taking a trip? Unfathomable. It seems to me that if I were the parent of one of those gems…. But of course, I’m not, so I’m free to imagine as I will.

    Like

  9. The Hook / Mar 13 2017 6:16 pm

    You break the mold every time, old friend.

    Like

  10. easyweimaraner / Mar 14 2017 12:26 am

    I had very uncool parents… they never let me go to a spring break event…. although all my classmates were there… ok, some… three. I wrote a letter to my mother that her “NO!” ruined my life furever and I never will find a boyfriend just because of her…. she got a laughing fit… oh my…

    Like

  11. Gabe Burkhardt / Mar 14 2017 4:53 am

    So true. Our 2-year-old nephew is completely unhinged because he doesn’t have his own smart phone. I feel like a gumpy old man, but sometimes I can’t but grumble… “Kids these days have no idea how good they’ve got it.”

    Cheers!

    Like

  12. Amy / Mar 14 2017 10:52 am

    Lots of rowdy people crowded together – not my idea of a good time. I would Break into a run for the nearest way out.

    Like

  13. roughwighting / Mar 14 2017 1:58 pm

    Yeah, back in my day, there was no ‘spring break’ (or if there was one, I was too busy studying and writing papers to know of it). Our son was flabbergasted that we wouldn’t fund his college senior year ‘spring break’ to the Caribbean. We suggested that if he had the money to go, he instead helped us out with his tuition. Case closed. Now I find I’m ‘lecturing’ to my grandkids about how it ‘used to be.’ My 8-year-old granddaughter was horrified when she heard that I didn’t have my first manicure until I was 35. Yikes!

    Like

  14. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy / Mar 14 2017 2:52 pm

    I can’t imagine letting a high school kid go on spring break – even with parental supervision, it would be an awful idea (it probably is an awful idea for people of every age!).

    Like

  15. Anabel Marsh / Mar 14 2017 4:12 pm

    Spring Break? Is that not just before exams? It was in my day anyway and I spent it in the library.

    Like

  16. heretherebespiders / Mar 15 2017 4:13 pm

    That’s a load of privileged, springingly breakable, rubbish! Not your post, but the attitudes in it, of course.
    I grew up in one of the places that three other states came to for SB. We never left for the occasion as messing with tourists was enough, and we already lived in what many thought was paradise.

    Like

  17. patriciaruthsusan / Mar 24 2017 8:24 am

    I would have never thought of spending money when in college to take a trip. I was still living at home and commuting to save money. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

    • philosophermouseofthehedge / Mar 24 2017 10:27 am

      Spring break trips? I had X amount of money (from bare bones budget and the part time little jobs I could get) and when that was gone, too bad. Parents would have laughed and said, “When you graduate and earn real money, then you can save for a vacation.” A more realistic point of view to prepare for long term reality. Thanks for driving a comment this way!

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. wolf4915

Always glad to hear from readers.

